Bad Vigaun in the Tennengau region – History, health, and gourmet pleasure

Relax and enjoy, not far from the city of Salzburg

The parish of Bad Vigaun is situated in the wonderful region of Tennengau in the Austrian province of Salzburg, just 15 km south of the Mozart city of Salzburg. Fabulous nature, lots of history, and a unique gourmet region come together in Bad Vigaun itself. The natural environment around Bad Vigaun is dominated by mountains, a beautiful valley, and a legendary river landscape, offering plenty of space for rest and relaxation.

Visit our YouTube channel to see a presentation about Bad Vigaun

Nature and the mountains around Bad Vigaun

The mountains dominate the views here. Bad Vigaun is bordered by the Tennengebirge and Hagengebirge mountain ranges as well as the Untersberg, one of the city of Salzburg’s local mountains. The Schlenken is Bad Vigaun’s “home mountain” and is a centre for outdoor sports. The Taugl offers plenty of scope for adventure with splendid river scenery and a popular bathing area. There are also beautiful forests and wonderful meadows.

Name and origin

The parish of Bad Vigaun encompasses Rengerberg, Riedl, Sankt Margarethen, and Vigaun, with a total of approx. 2100 inhabitants in all. Until May 1923, the parish of Bad Vigaun belonged to the administrative district of Golling, but since 1 June 1923 it has been under the administration of Hallein. The name “Bad” Vigaun was introduced in 2002, thanks to the St. Barbara Spring.

Historical information

Bad Vigaun was first officially documented between 741 and 748 AD. The name Vigaun presumably harks back to the Latin “vicone”, meaning a large or stretched out village. Bad Vigaun’s crest shows the head of St. Dionysius, the patron saint of the church, and 3 golden balls, the symbol of the 1000 year long seigneurship of the Nonnberg monastery.

Bad Vigaun in facts & figures

  • Municipality name: “Vicone”, “Figun” - Bad Vigaun - Meaning: Roman large village
  • First documented: 748 AD
  • Population: 2,099 (1 January 2018)
  • Location: 15 km south of Salzburg
  • Elevation: 468 m, Area: 1,755 ha
  • Municipalities: Bad Vigaun, St. Margarethen, Rengerberg, Riedl